Time for Tea

How sweetly the light doth shine, as summer warms from winter’s rhyme! This week we have another poem, an update on the tour and for the first time ever, an extract from my book!

The Lion Hearts tour is a week closer and an opening date in Lambeth has now been confirmed. The gig will kick the tour off on October 31st and is currently the only London date planned.

It is an honour to be working with the Healthy Living Club at Lingham Court and helping to celebrate age in a positive light. Click here for more details!

All proceeds from this concert will go to help those with dementia, so please stay tuned for more details and support this event in any way that you can.

So sticking with the tour and our focus on age, I am this weekend presenting an extract from my book “Me, My World and I”. This is the first time I have ever published from these pages.

Last week we looked at my writing partner, Maree Ward Russell’s, excellent offerings to the world of dragons, ghosts and fairy dust and the temptation this week was to follow up with my poem The Coming of Fairies. But in the end I have decided to present Time for Tea.

For some, this poem will represent a shift from that to which you have become accustomed. The fact is that unless you have ever read my book, you could be forgiven for thinking that I only ever write romance.

Not so! This is a poem with a clear metaphor and supporting prose that hopefully will jolt you from your armchair as a double dose of smelling salts taken deeply to the airways.

Time for Tea
One day, I’ll climb a mountain,
Or swim an open sea.
But for now, I think I’ll sit here,
And maybe drink some tea.

Today I’m kind of busy,
But still I’m in my prime.
I’ll put it in my diary,
And fit it in sometime.

I know I’m getting older,
Not beating round the bush.
But I have still got ages,
There’s isn’t any rush.

I know what you are thinking,
Things still are left undone.
But then there is tomorrow,
While for now I have to run.

I never climbed a mountain,
Or swam an open sea.
The time, it went so quickly,
While drinking lots of tea.

Extracts from the accompanying chapter in my book Me, My World and I

“Time for Tea”, takes a serious subject and delivers it in a light, bubbly manner. The quatrain stanzas (verses of four lines) simply bobble along. It’s an easy read with no real baggage, but its meaning is in your face without any real brain power being required.

With little effort, you’ll find the cliché: never put off until tomorrow what can be done today. It’s wrapped in verse and presented in five easy to swallow slices. This is “all mouth and no trousers” alive, kicking, and in your face. No more excuses; we are all guilty!

From the moment we are born, the clock is ticking. None of us know when our time will be up. We all know this, and yet we nearly all put off until tomorrow what we perhaps could do today. Who thinks his or her dream is a priority? Who explores their dreams regardless of expense and consequence?

The truth is that the pressure of everyday life means that the majority of our dreams are impractical, unaffordable, or unachievable.

But strip back the fact that we are so often slaves to our wild imaginations. Remove the debris of the impractical, unaffordable, and unachievable, and we are still given to putting what’s left on the back burner. We are totally obsessed with saving money while looking forward to what might be. True, we all have to live – and we need money for that – but as I asked a little earlier, what if tomorrow doesn’t come? What then?

“Time for Tea” is less about the emotional aspects of being stuck in a routine and more about its consequences. That is to say, if we become a slave to life, when will there ever be time to realise dreams or become more than we already know ourselves to be?

So I say, rise up against the grind and strike out against making do with things as they are! It is time to reach out and grab your dreams by the throat. There will be plenty of time for tea later!

You can read this chapter in its entirety in my book, Me, My World and I
Click here if not in America and here if in America

You can find out more about Lion Hearts here: http://www.lionhearts-crusade.com and you can hook up with my wonderful writing partner Maree here: http://www.mwrussell-books.com Maree can also be found on Twitter: Follow @mibbymw

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Time for Tea

  1. When you reach my age, it’s easy to have regrets, for things done, and things left undone. But I’ve determined to have no regrets. I’ve lived life as well as I could, and to hell with the rest. I like me as I am! 🙂 Good poem, Andrew. It shows the guilt we may be prone to, if we allow it. But guilt, and regret, are dead-end streets. Live for today.

    • avbarber says:

      Hi Hap, I couldn’t agree more, we should be content with those choices we make – but at the same time, it is never too late live your dreams! Thank you so much for your comment and for taking the time to read my blog 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    One of my favourites 🙂

    Good luck in Lambeth, a worthy cause 🙂

    • avbarber says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read Lisa, and thank you also for your kind comment. I think Lambeth will be a lot of fun and am looking forward to it already!

  3. Anne Glenn says:

    Thank you Andrew for so many thoughts to ponder. Your poem reminds me of “To My Grown Son” that I read some time ago. We often get too wrapped up in trivial things of today that we don’t slow down to enjoy the desires of our heart. It’s like Scarlett O’hara would say “After all… tomorrow is another day.”. Unfortunately we only have a limited number of tomorrows.

    • avbarber says:

      Thank you Anne, both for your kindness and your comment. You are right of course, we do have only a limited number of tomorrows – but it is what we do with them that matters most! I wish you lots of happy tomorrows! 🙂

  4. suefortin says:

    A very thought provoking poem, which makes me think of a line from The Red Hot Chilli Peppers’ song ‘Can’t Stop’ … ‘This life is more than just a read through…’

    Sue

    • avbarber says:

      Thank you as always for your kind comment Sue – I guess in many ways life is like a book, each page a day with the words written by moments. We are, after all, writing the history of tomorrow 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    You are so right Andrew! You can’t wait for that perfect moment it may never come. I’ve learned you have to make those moments. I refuse to play the “what if?” or “if only” game anymore. Thank you as always for your beautiful poems:)

    • avbarber says:

      Thank you for your kind words Lisa, it is always nice to hear from you. I think we all are guilty of looking back a little from time to time – but the fact is, life is ahead of us, not over our shoulder 🙂

  6. Maree Ward-Russell says:

    Love this change in direction Pan. And it strikes a chord with many. Might have to commission one from you called Time for a Wine – not being a tea drinker 😀 Great work! Wend xx

    • avbarber says:

      A time for wine, hmmm, that’s every day after 7pm isn’t it? I think I might have to sneak this in somewhere 🙂 As always Wend, your comments are greatly appreciated – how many writers can say their favourite author comments on their work 🙂

Leave a Reply

