Leaping Hearts

It’s been a while since I published twice in a week, but as I have a spare moment I thought I would post another new poem.

Leaping Hearts is taken from the Lion Hearts collection and will be one of the poems I perform with Maree Ward Russell when we tour this autumn.

For me, this work is light, bubbly and bright – it’s the sun breaking the curtains on a summer’s morn’ or a mild and fruity wine waiting to be quaffed! There isn’t a shadow to be found in sight!

There is a wonderful innocence about these words – the metaphor I have woven, should be obvious enough, and I have been deliberate in offering more than one possible meaning!

A comfortable rhyming scheme combines in tempo to bounce along nicely, presenting a pleasantly rhythmical flow. You can consume these lines as an easily digestible snack, or linger on each word and feast endless upon its meaning.

And so I leave you now, and ask only that you let me know what you think!

Leaping Hearts
In moments lasting with a smile,
With beating heart I wait a while.
Then from love your words be met,
Unto their sound with passions set.
And with a kiss from smiling lips,
Then waves in sail, with cresting dips.
Unto a moment, stirred by this,
And onward now to heaven’s bliss.
Before the whisper as summer blew,
Two leaping hearts sing I love you.
In moments lasting with a smile,
With beating heart I wait a while.

Leaping Hearts will be performed as a part of the Lion Hearts tour http://www.lionhearts-crusade.com and will be shared with schools through the Lion Hearts for Schools Project http://www.lionhearts-schools.com/

My writing partner in all things Lion Hearts, Maree Ward Russell, can be found here: http://www.mwrussell-books.com and can also be found on Twitter here: @mibbymw

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Leaping Hearts

  1. georgeforfun says:

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun and commented:
    Wonderfully done.

  2. Regina says:

    Beautiful.

  3. M.W. Russell says:

    My heart has been leaping since reading this Pan! A joy to see 🙂 Wend xx

  4. Anne Glenn says:

    Thank you Andrew for sharing your poetry. I love this romantic poem of yours, it touched my heart. God bless.

  5. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

