I have been digging through the archive and stumbled on this, one of my earliest essays, what do you think? 🙂

avbarber

This is a leaf, but not just a leaf, with colours of carmine and gold.

Rusted by the tears shed of a dying season and burned from the breath of dragons, it lays in evidence of an end and in wait of nothing.

I look closer now and my mind races in creative dreams of all that I see. For beyond the damp, cold material of life’s final breath, I see the beating heart of the world.

I see rock, molten with fire, as it oozes in cascade from life’s broken crust. This is the spear of Helios as it threads morning curtains to pierce the gloom of a shadow’s heart.

Acres of corn beneath burning skies open to meadows of saffron and lime. I am walking avenues of apricot, lined with the olive of willow, as I bridge oceans of lust and flame.

Chestnut and chocolate come together in…

View original post 81 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

