Feast

In torrent, the crash of tides as would bring flavour gilt with the taste of elsewhere. As colours with spice, the crack of seed and break of rice, I am given to that which would bring such joy.

The nourishment of body brings cheer to the mind and with it the words as now spoken. In feast of kings, nurtured from moments, comes smash of sweet with tang of sour – the touch of flame and aroma as would bring Gods from the heavens.

I love food, I love the art found in combining colours, the balladry in contrasting flavours and the joy that can come in the sampling.

Today I invite you to feast upon Kashmiri chicken, so sweet as would be compared to fairest Lilly – to savour Merek’s spiced Bombay Potato, to crunch Lion Heart Bhajis, all accompanied by Crusade rice and of course – Grail crackers with chutney.

To begin, I am cooking a chicken Kashmir, with a few tweaks to better suit my taste. This is a mild, sweet curry bursting with flavour and suitable for even the most sensitive of pallets.

I start by making a curry paste, this is done by mixing olive oil with a number of mixed, crushed herbs and spices. These being: coriander, turmeric, chilli, mustard, cumin, cracked pepper, fenugreek, garlic powder, fennel, pimento, nutmeg, cardamom, cloves, bay leaves and salt.

Once the paste is formed, I add a coarsely chopped onion and some cubed chicken breast and mix. This is left on a slow heat while I mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl: Cream, natural yoghurt, coconut milk, chopped garlic, minced ginger and sugar. Once the chicken is cooked and resting tenderly amidst chards of yellowed onion we blend our two sets of ingredients together and then simply leave to simmer.

As a finishing touch, I half some bananas and caramelise them in a pan – these I will float on top of the curry just before serving.

Next comes our Bombay spuds. I boil a number of potatoes in their skins then when soft, peel them and cut into cubes. These are fried with shallots, ginger and garlic before adding coconut milk, natural yoghurt and curry powder.

For the Bhajis I chop an onion into thin slices around an inch or so long, these are to be mixed with a batter consisting of rice flour (easily made), plain flour, turmeric, cumin and garam masala. I add my water just a little at a time as I want my mix to be thick and stodgy (to bind the onion together). Once the batter is ready, I mix in the onion, form into balls and fry.

With my rice I am cheating as I am using turmeric for my colouring rather than saffron, but there is no magic wand here – simply boil your rice in water with a little salt and a little less than a half a teaspoon of your colouring spice.

We fry some poppadoms and prepare some chutneys. Today we are having natural yoghurt mixed with mint jelly, chopped onion with mint jelly, lime pickle and a chutney made from mango. The latter two simply came from jars, while the two former accompaniments require no explanation in their making!

A feast fit for our Lion Hearts themselves, aromatic with a clash of sweet and sour and just a touch of flame!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Feast

  1. Eliane says:

    Could you give me your address *_*

  2. suefortin says:

    Mild and sweet sold it to me! Looks delicious πŸ™‚

    • avbarber says:

      It really came out quite well this time, thank you Sue πŸ™‚ It’s an odd thing in that there is always a slight difference each and every time you cook it πŸ™‚

  3. nikki says:

    A new twist to your blogs, which I love, thought I turned over to cookery channel and I don’t cook,it’s sounds lovely,but I don’t like sweet & sour and definately no bananas in my food. It’s nice to read the “normal” side of people ,loved it and loved the pics too X

  4. Reblogged this on authorlisacrowe and commented:
    The first thing I see when I go into my blog today is Andrew’s food. I absolutely love this post.

  5. georgeforfun says:

    wonderful change up, Andrew, looks delicious. My daughter n daughters in law checked it out with me. Now I have to perform next weekend, will let you know if I can compete or not. )));)))) Definitely not in poetry or prose, just maybe in Kitchen

  6. ciao! this cuisine is exquisite and the recipe is in a most mesmerizing format. a treat.
    thebestdressup

  7. Marina says:

    My goodness–your talents are unlimited, Good Knight!:) What a refreshing and fabulous post! However, as a pesky rodent I will keep my distance from your kitchen–but not before I steal a little taste:)

Leave a Reply

