Who Am I

My name is Andrew Barber and I don’t know who I am, but today is the first day of the rest of my life!

Like most people I seek to be the best that I can be, while searching for answers as to what that actually might mean!

Each day I learn something new, I grow through experience and am humble in the presence of wisdom. I must never confuse power and control with somehow being “better” and should always give full weight to the words of others.

There are many opinions and they all have value, although none can ever be fact. Opinion drives debate, so if I have confidence in the conviction of my opinions, but also have a willingness to an open mind, I can grow.

Through debate we are able to drive important change and make a difference, but only when we have the humility to see the best way forward, no matter how different it may be from our original ideas.

I must always listen, not just for words but for when the words have stopped. An enthusiasm to share my opinion can lead to not hearing the opinions of others and this in turn will make me less, and not more than I can be.

I should never fear the wind but use it to lift me higher. I must be willing to reach for my dreams but never live in a dream and always be sure to know the difference.

But who am I and what is my place in the world?

I am unique, I am an individual, I have talent and I have weakness. I am not just a number or a demographical statistic. I can make change and be part of a better world.

My name is Andrew Barber, I am closer to knowing who I am and today is the first day of the rest of my life!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who Am I

  1. decorartuk says:

    What a brilliant manifest!

  2. Manuela, the Rose ;-) says:

    Well done, Andrew! I wish there were more people thinking and acting like you 🙂

  3. Sonia Smith says:

    This is so well done. I’m actually lost for words other than it was beautifully written like everything you write

  4. Doing a lot of catching up on blogs and things and this seemed like a good place to start! Great words 🙂

Leave a Reply

